1. Food
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://cocktails.about.com/u/r/od/ginreviews/gr/new_amsterdam.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

User Reviews

New Amsterdam Straight Gin Review

User Rating 3 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
In a word, disgustingNovember 16, 2012 By ctrlaltdefeat
Created an about.com account just to warn everyone against this gin. I'm not even sure how it can rightly be marketed as gin. It's sickeningly sweet, syrupy, with an overwhelming faux vanilla taste. I would never, under any circumstances, drink this again. And even if sickeningly sweet liquor is your thing, but one that is at least honest about it.
7 of 27 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
New Amsterdam GinAugust 27, 2012 By 408stroker
I bought a 1.75 liter of this stuff a few weeks ago to try it out. I poured two shots into a glass with ice and then added 7up. The drink went down well, the spices in the gin are strong enough to cover the alcohol. And the 7up helps too. But after drinking more and more of this gin, I got tired of the spices in it. It made me think why did I buy such a big bottle. Sometimes I though I was drinking cologne mixed with flowers. For now I have switched back to vodka.
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Is it Hendrix? No...May 31, 2012 By jasoturner
But I find New Amsterdam to be outstanding for Gin and Tonics, and a fantastic bargain. I can get a large bottle (1.75L) for $20 here in the Boston area.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Martini or straight up?November 30, 2011 By hozz1235
I've just been getting into martinis lately. I've always enjoyed Tanq. and Tonic but I like the ""class"" that goes along with a martini (reminds me of the Rat Pack days). Anyways, I started with Tanq. martini with a hint of vermouth to get it as dry as possible. That was good but what I really like is New Amsterdam, NO vermouth with a splash of olive juice (the liquid the green olives with pimentos come in). Also called a ""dirty"" martini. Go down wayy too smooth!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Styles of GinOctober 03, 2011 By DPMill
For those who find New Amsterdam lacking enough juniper for their taste, there are 2 diffrent styles of gin, The Dutch and London Dry. The Dutch Style (which is the original) is sweeter and lighter in Juniper, often with citrus character. The London Dry is drier and heavier in Juniper. New Amsterdam is a very nice Dutch style gin, true it's not in the league of Hendricks, but at 1/3 the price it's a very nice bottle of gin.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
My first gin :)July 29, 2011 By madmisskelly
As someone who is just starting out drinking at 21 I really like this Gin. I had never had gin before and didn't really know what I was getting myself into. I mixed this with some tonic water and I immediately noticed the citrus taste which mixed really well. I could imagine drinking this gin neat for the citrus taste. It makes an awesome summer drink. I am drinking it now with a coke and even still, the citrus notes are right there. I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a gin that isn't typical. Its definitely enjoyable. I am glad I got to experience this one as my first introduction into gin, and I will be looking forward to trying more.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Differant but not bad!July 23, 2011 By Vorlauf
OK, so you know by the other reviews that this isn't a traditional London Dry Gin, and it won't make a traditional dry martini. That said, it is a good cleanly made spirit that is pleasant to drink and will appeal to to those who don't like the intense juniper of other gins. Some like an oaked chardonnay and some don't. Some like an aggressively hopped ale, and other prefer more balance. If you are willing to forgo caring about what a perfect gin ""should"" be, then you will probably taste this with an open mind and find it to be fine and an original take on a beverage that historically should be unique and idiosyncratic. I like Beefeater a lot, and this is an apple to to that orange, but I like this too. The price should tell you it isn't high end in the ingredients, but at the price point between this and Seagram's, I will go for this. Seagram's makes me wish I was drinking Beefeater, New Amsterdam lets me enjoy it for what it is.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Its 5 star excelentJuly 15, 2011 By opusxking
Gin is my favorite drink, I was told by a fellow customer this gin was better the tanqury; i didn't believe but thought i'd try it anyway. Unbelieveable but i'd have to say this is the best gin i ever drank, and the guy at the liquor was indeed right; Hats off to this gin and the guy at the liquor store. A must try before you believe any reviews. I made the switch instantly . . .
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Amsterdam is NOT ginMay 19, 2011 By yabbiyum
This stuff is SO BAD, I'm amazed anyone would buy it. AWFUL. No juniper flavor. It has FAKE vanilla in it. AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE. You've been warned. They THINK they are competing with Hendrick's but not with FAKE vanilla. Stay away! Buy something else, ANYTHING but this stuff.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Sweet taste. Not for meApril 05, 2011 By dkhenry
I like the juniper in gin. This is a sweet gin and I am disappointed. Had to add a lot of lime to my gin & tonic to cover the sweetness. Yuck! It might work well for you, but I would buy another low grade gin instead. Gilbey for example. Cheaper AND BETTER. I find this New Amsterdam a c-r-a-p-p-y gin in a fancy bottle. However that is just my opinion. You may love it and I hope you do. I is just not good to me. Thanks.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Like a MartiniFebruary 20, 2011 By jgmccand
The first time I tried this, I made a dry martini with dry vermouth in the usual way. It tasted awful! Rather than throw the bottle away, I drank a couple of shots over ice with a green olive. It tasted rather like my usual martini. I enjoyed it! Have bought a couple of more bottles since.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great StraightJanuary 17, 2011 By monza2t
So as a gin lover, I really like this one straight. It really is not suited to a classic Gin & Tonic, but is a very nice sipper. While this is by definition a Gin, those who compare this one to a more traditional Gin like Tanquaray or Bombay are erroneous in that comparison. Thats like comparing apples to oranges. At the $12 I pay for this one, its a bargain for tasty daily consumption, while the more expensive, and decidedly better, Tanquaray can be set aside for good company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
New Amsterdam Gin ,the Boardwalk Empire of GinsOctober 22, 2010 By limomangus
Its no Bombay or Gordons or Beefeaters .Its more like Gilbeys.Its Cheap Gin,Bath tub Gin If you like the Boardwalk Empire,You`ll like this stuff.It fits right in with the bootleg days ,lol.If I knew it tasted like this I would of bought cheap gin.It was not cheap its was more than Gordons,less that Bombay and Beefeaters.I mostly drink gin & tonic BUT Mostly club soda with a splash of Tonic.So I can taste the gin ,its not hidden under the Tonic.When I drink I look for value and taste.The only reason I bought this stuff was a $5.00 rebate which made it cheaper than the other brands I listed.Now if you start hearing this stuff is the new thing,and hear Boardwalk Empire ,just snicker.
5 of 18 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
May 31, 2010 By rogo24
well I'm drinking right now maybe I'm not one to talk since i don't really drink gin but i find it very good it does have a strong citrus taste but i like that and one of the few spirits i will drink straight. i would buy it again this coming from a man who loves his whiskey.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not recognizable as ginDecember 23, 2009 By Glenside
Flavors of butterscotch and vanilla predominate, with a little lemon peel and even less juniper. New Amsterdam is indeed smooth as the makers were aiming for, but this is a gin for people who think they don't like gin. For everyone else, there are several genuine gins that are equally smooth, such as Bluecoat. Does not mix well in clear drinks: neither in a martini where you're looking for the character and nuances of the gin, nor in a G&T where you want the juniper to be apparent over the tonic. I will take the other reviewers at their word with regard to how it mixes in the fruity drinks. The other redeeming virtue is price, but then it's hard to see the merits in making this a staple in your home bar. If you make enough gin drinks to have more than a little gin on hand, you'll want something else. If you're planning on using it for sweeter cocktails, you're probably better off with a good vodka, flavored or not.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Yes there is juniperAugust 06, 2009 By johnnyb93
I don't understand how the reviewer of this piece thought there was not enough juniper. He is wrong. Juniper is present. This is a very pleasant gin that makes a great summery gin and tonic. Yes there is citrus but that doesn't meant there is no juniper. Try it. The price is right and it is a wonderful gin. I assume this is a Gallo product since it is from Modesto.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best for the buckJuly 11, 2009 By Missilemonger
I agree. It's certainly not as good as Bombay Saphire but I have started buying it instead of Gordons for when I'm not feeling so flush. Give it a try
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
GREAT GINJune 27, 2009 By marshall318
I was at the red dot store and they were giving free samples and i tried it...WOW they had me sold right then and there ...I LOVE IT...its soooo smooth..i do recommend it to other fellow drinkers...
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
October 20, 2008 By Luciano_theGR8
This has got to be the best gin on the market. Very, very smooth and it's not even expensive. I used to drink Tanqueray and this is smoother than that for half the price. I have all of my friends drinking this now.
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.